FREE & BARGAIN EBOOKS – {07-10-2021}

Chocolate Wars: The 150-Year Rivalry Between the World's Greatest Chocolate Makers by Deborah Cadbury

Chocolate Wars: The 150-Year Rivalry Between the World's Greatest Chocolate Makersby Deborah Cadbury

BARGAIN

Available through July 10 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

In the early nineteenth century the major English chocolate firms — Fry, Rowntree, and Cadbury — were all Quaker family enterprises that aimed to do well by doing good. The English chocolatiers introduced the world's first chocolate bar and ever fancier chocolate temptations — while also writing groundbreaking papers on poverty, publishing authoritative studies of the Bible, and campaigning against human rights abuses. Chocolate was always a global business, and in the global competitors, especially the Swiss and the Americans Hershey and Mars, the Quaker capitalists met their match. The ensuing chocolate wars would culminate in a multi-billion-dollar showdown pitting Quaker tradition against the cutthroat tactics of a corporate behemoth.

Featuring a cast of savvy entrepreneurs, brilliant eccentrics, and resourceful visionaries, Chocolate Wars is a delicious history of the fierce, 150-year business rivalry for one of the world's most coveted markets.

Show Me More:Nonfiction

The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel by Sarah Steele

The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michelby Sarah Steele

$0.99

Available through July 10 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

The war taught her to fight. The children taught her to hope…

Inspired by real acts of bravery and resistance, The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is a heartrending and deeply moving story of one woman's courage and sacrifice during World War II, from the USA Today bestselling author of The Missing Piece of Nancy Moon.

This exquisitely beautiful novel is perfect for readers of The Rose Code by Kate Quinn, The Postmistress, Lilac Girls and The Girl from Vichy.

'A beautifully worked tale of bravery, woven into the reality of a time we can't forget' Mandy Robotham, author of The Berlin Girl

'An emotional, beautifully constructed read. I loved the way the clues from the past and present slowly knitted together, answering the questions that had been missing their answers for so long' Sunday Times bestselling author Jill Mansell

'Gripping, at times heartbreaking, but ultimately uplifting, I found this beautifully written novel impossible to put down' Sunday Times bestselling author Katie Fforde

'My darling girl, I need you to find someone for me . . .'

France, 1942. At the end of the day, the schoolteacher releases her pupils. She checks they have their identity passes, and warns them not to stop until the German guards have let them through the barrier that separates occupied France from Free France. As the little ones fly across the border and into their mothers' arms, she breathes a sigh of relief. No one is safe now. Not even the children.

Berkshire, present day. A letter left to her by her beloved late grandmother Gigi takes Hannah Stone on a journey deep into the heart of the Dordogne landscape. As she begins to unravel a forgotten history of wartime bravery and sacrifice, she discovers the heartrending secret that binds her grandmother to a village schoolteacher, the remarkable Lucie Laval . . .

'An engaging tale of courage and friendship. A triumph!' Gill Paul

Show Me More:Literary Fiction

Mirror Crossed by L J Maines

Mirror Crossedby L J Maines

FREE

Available through July 14 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Scarlet wiles away hours writing physics equations on the secrets of mind reading; subconsciously hoping this would bring her closer to finding love. The underachieving anarchic genius is piecing together the puzzle that she has been reading the mind of her soulmate from the age of five.
The closer she comes to finding out the truth about him, the more people begin to question her sanity. The soulmates will take vastly different paths in life into adulthood, and end up having contrasting lifestyles. Faced with potentially being institutionalised, Scarlet has to battle to prove she is right in order to find him.

Show Me More:Romance

CREEPLES! by Patrick D. Pidgeon

CREEPLES!by Patrick D. Pidgeon

$0.99

Available through July 10 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Let’s just come right out and say it . . . stranger things do happen at Aberdasher Academy of ScienceWe’re talking weird science, with fantastical consequences such as a slithering colossal Mongolian Death Worm, clashing medieval Bog People, an ambushing Ayia Napa sea monster, and a ravaging mythical beast, just to name a few! Desperate to raise funds to save their favorite teacher’s Genomic department from closing, Johnny “Spigs” Spignola, Theresa Ray “T-Ray” Rogers, and Pablo “Peabo” Torres team up to launch a crowdfunding lab experiment, but hastily use a mysterious DNA serum that astonishingly creates six pint-size, magical humanoids–the students affectionately call Creeples–who unleash mystical mayhem and campus chaos.But even more shocking, a startling mystery emerges for these intrepid teens. Their noble but foolish actions uncover a shadowy insider’s evil plan to gain demonic supremacy from the academy’s hidden powers of ancient sorcery–and the Creeples unwittingly stand in the way!

Show Me More:Children’s Books

Above the Law by Lorhainne Eckhart

Above the Lawby Lorhainne Eckhart

BARGAIN

Available through July 10 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

His crime was unforgivable, but the law protects him.

Mark & Billy Jo are back in this riveting romantic crime thriller about an unreported crime in the police chief’s family in this new crossover series from NY Times & USA Today bestselling author Lorhainne Eckhart.

“If you ever overstep with my family again, not even Gail will be able to save your job. Then, I assure you, the closest you’ll come to working in law enforcement again will be as a security guard at some mall.”

Exactly what Mark had expected.

“Chief Tolly Shephard”

The law is designed to protect the innocent, but what happens when the police chief could be protecting a criminal?

If an alleged crime is reported to you, but no victim can be found, has a crime been committed? This is exactly the question Billy Jo McCabe asks Detective Mark Friessen when an anonymous woman approaches her and tells her about an unspeakable crime taking place right under the watch of the chief of police, in his own family.

They soon learn family is family, and the victim has been hiding her secret for years. But she’s not just any victim: She’s the niece of the chief of police, Tolly Shephard.

But when Mark and Billy Jo dig into the chief, his family, and the secret they’re hiding they soon discover the players in this game are people who use the law to their advantage, and sometimes the law doesn’t protect the innocent–and it has the best non disclosures money can buy.

Show Me More:Mysteries, Thrillers and Suspense

The Dime Box by Karen Grose

The Dime Boxby Karen Grose

BARGAIN

Available through July 12 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Greta Giffen barely escaped being murdered by the man she grew up with. She’s not sure who Ian is, or who she is, but she’s determined to find out. When she bolts from their secluded cabin in northern Ontario and flees to Toronto, her new life comes at a price. Ian dies under suspicious circumstances and a veteran detective believes eighteen-year-old Greta has the perfect motive.

A prime suspect in a tense police investigation, Greta finds it hard to make Detective Astra Perez believe the details of her dark and appalling story. Digging deep into her sordid history and forced to face the people from her past in a new light, Greta struggles to accept the secrets that have haunted her since childhood. Still, Detective Perez remains doubtful. And until Greta herself confronts the disturbing evidence in front of her, she will never truly escape that cabin in the woods.

Show Me More:Mysteries, Thrillers and Suspense

The Third Call by Lorhainne Eckhart

The Third Callby Lorhainne Eckhart

$0.99

Available through July 10 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Romance and suspense collide in this pulse-pounding read!

NY Times & USA Today bestselling author Lorhainne Eckhart brings you an emotional O’Connell family novel that is both “Gut-wrenching & Riveting.”

A small town. A scared little girl. A man with a gun. A small cabin deep in the woods. This book was a wonderful story.”
-Bev, Bookbub Reviewer

Bad-boy deputy Marcus O’Connell dreads what cops know as the third call.

When Marcus takes the call the first time, he thinks it’s a prank.

The second time, he knows there’s a problem.

The third time the call comes in and is patched through to him, he knows it’s something he can’t ignore.

The only thing is, the girl is terrified and keeps hanging up, and Marcus knows someone is in the house with her. Can they save a girl from a desperate situation?

Show Me More:Romance

Haunt our Facebook Fan Page!